We Welcome Our New Secretary for Faith Formation

We welcome our new Secretary for Faith Formation/Superintendent of Catholic Schools, Mr. Henry P. Fortier, as he begins his work in the Diocese of Orlando.  We are happy to have him as our leader.  If you would like to contact him, his email address is hfortier@orlandodiocese.org.  

Henry_Fortier

We welcome our new Secretary for Faith Formation/Superintendent of Catholic Schools, Mr. Henry P. Fortier, as he begins his work in the Diocese of Orlando.  We are happy to have him as our leader.  If you would like to contact him, his email address is hfortier@orlandodiocese.org

Mr. Fortier and the staff of the Office of Catholic Schools are happy to welcome the following new Catholic school leaders to the Diocese of Orlando.  They officially began their duties July 1st. 

Our new elementary leaders are: 

  • Dr. Larry Thompson is the new principal of Holy Redeemer Catholic School in Kissimmee.  Dr. Thompson is new to the Diocese, but not new to administration, and his email address is lthompson@hrcschool.com.  
  • Mrs. Karen Tinter is the new principal of Our Saviour Catholic School in Cocoa Beach.  Mrs. Tinter came to Our Saviour from a teaching position at Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic School in Melbourne.  Mrs. Tinter’s email address is ktinter@oursaviourschool.org
  • Dr. Christopher Benedetti is the new principal of Resurrection Catholic School in Lakeland.  Dr. Benedetti returns to the Diocese after being an administrator in Orange County Public Schools.  Before obtaining his Doctorate degree, Dr. Benedetti was Assistant Principal at St. Joseph Catholic School in Winter Haven.  He may be contacted by email at cbenedetti@rcslakeland.org
  • Mrs. Leigh Svajko is the new principal of Sacred Heart Catholic School in New Smyrna Beach.  Mrs. Svajko was teaching at Father Lopez Catholic High School before she was hired.  Mrs. Svajko’s email address is lsvajko@sacredheardcatholic.com
  • Dr. Pamela Bernards is the new principal at St. Charles Borromeo Catholic School in Orlando.  Dr. Bernards is new to the Diocese having moved from Knoxville, Tennessee.  Dr. Bernards can be contacted by email at pbernards@stcharles-orland.org.           
  • Mrs. Claudia Stokes is the new principal at St. Joseph Parish School in Palm Bay.  Mrs. Stokes held the position of Director of Lifelong Faith Formation at St. John the Evangelist Catholic Community at the time she was hired.  Mrs. Stokes also taught at the middle school level at St. Joseph Parish School in the past.  Mrs. Stokes’ email address is stokesc@st-joe.org
  • Mrs. Sandra Basinger is the new interim principal at St. Mary Catholic School in Rockledge.  Mrs. Basinger has served the school and parish in the capacity of a middle school teacher, assistant principal and part-time Director of Religious Education.  Mrs. Basinger’s email address is sbasinger@stmarys-school.org. 
  • Mrs. Mary Staley is the new principal at St. Paul Catholic School in Leesburg.  Mrs. Staley is new to the Diocese having recently moved to Leesburg from Kansas City, Kansas.  Mrs. Staley is receiving email at mstaley@saintpaulschool.com.  

Our new high school leaders are: 

  • Mr. Thomas Armstrong is the new principal of Central Catholic High School in Melbourne.  Mr. Armstrong, a Melbourne Central Catholic High School graduate, comes to us from Eau Gallie High School in Melbourne. Mr. Armstrong’s email address is armstrongt@melbournecc.org
  • Mr. Lee Sayago is the new principal of Father Lopez Catholic High School in Daytona Beach.  Mr. Sayago attended both elementary and high school in the Diocese of Orlando and began his career as a teacher at St. James Cathedral School.  Most recently, Mr. Sayago was Assistant Principal at St. Andrew Catholic School in Orlando.  Mr. Sayago’s email address is lsayago@fatherlopez.org. 
  • Mr. Matthew Franzino is the new principal of Santa Fe Catholic High School in Lakeland.  Mr. Franzino served as Assistant Principal at the school before accepting the position as principal.  Mr. Franzino’s email address is mfranzino@santafecatholic.org.   

Thank you to our new Catholic school leaders for choosing to serve in the Diocese of Orlando and welcome to a new and exciting school year!