Leaders in Catholic Education Honored at NCEA Convention


The following awards were given to recognize leaders in Catholic Education at the 2015 National Catholic Educational Association Convention in Orlando: 

Leonard F. DeFiore Parental Choice Advocate Award

This award is bestowed annually to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in promoting full and fair parental choice in education. 
• James B. Herzog, Florida Catholic Conference/Florida Conference of Catholic Bishops, associate director for education.

Msgr. John F. Meyers Award

The Monsignor John F. Meyers Award is presented to an individual who has provided substantial support for Catholic education through contributions in areas of development, public relations, scholarship programs, financial management, or government relations. This award seeks to recognize a person whose work has national significance.
• Mr. Robert Svoboda, President, Donna-Dale Freedom Foundation, New Smyrna Beach, FL

Dr. Karen M. Ristau Innovations AwardTomDoyle

Named in honor of Dr. Karen M. Ristau this award is presented annually to an individual, school or program that has furthered the mission of Catholic education through an innovative program or approach. NCEA presented the very first Ristau Award during the NCEA 2014 Convention & Expo.
• Bishop Moore Catholic High School

Distinguished Home and School Association Award

The National Catholic Educational Association (NCEA) wishes to recognize outstanding contributions to Catholic elementary schools by home and school associations. By recognizing these associations and their accomplishments, NCEA aims to inspire other home and school associations, with the hope that other parent groups will replicate, adapt, or expand these programs. NCEA sponsors this award in the firm belief that strong home and school associations ensure effective Catholic schools.
• Ana Ferreira, President, Annunciation Catholic Academy Home and School Association, Altamonte Springs, FL

Distinguished Pastor Award

The Distinguished Pastor Award is given to honor pastors who have given outstanding support to Catholic elementary education.
• Father Karl N. Bergin, Pastor, Our Lady of Lourdes Parish and School, Melbourne, FL

Religious Educational Excellence Award

• Daniel J. McGowan, Director of Faith Formation, Church of the Resurrection, Lakeland, FL

F. Sadlier Dinger AwardFather Pat low res

• D. Michael McCarron, Ph.D., former executive director of the Florida Catholic Conference

• Father Pat Sheedy

• Ursuline Sister Bernadette Mackay

• Melbourne Central Catholic High SchoolSr Bernie low res





mcc low res